Area Info

Here is a compilation of area resources and businesses for those passing through or anyone looking for some local intel! Try and keep it local!

 

Roanoke Outside www.roanokeoutside.com

For everything outdoors in the surrounding area. Our friends at Roanoke Outside have a website packed with great info to help you get on your way.

Roanoke River Blueway www.roanokeriverblueway.org

All info pertaining to boating and recreating on 45 miles of the Roanoke River between the headwaters in Montgomery County to Smith Mountain Lake.

Downtown Roanoke www.downtownroanoke.org

A great resource for our Downtown area. Whether you’re looking for local restaurants, shops or museums they’ve got it covered here.

Roanoke Valley Visitors and Convention Bureau www.visitroanokeva.com

A great website for locals and visitors alike. Always up to date with special offers, packages and featured events in the area.

Blue Ridge Parkway www.blueridgeparkway.org

Everything you need to know for all 469 miles of the Parkway. Right in our backyard!

 

Outdoor, Miscellaneous & Bike Shops

 

Just the Right Gear www.justtherightgear.com

Carry Santa Cruz, Cannondale, Kona, Niner, and Surly among some others.

East Coasters Bike Shop www.eastcoasters.com

Carry Trek, Gary Fisher, and Salsa Cycles among some others.

Underdog Bikes www.underdogbikesva.com

Carry KHS and Scott brands.

Starlight Bicycles http://www.starlightbikes.com

Carry Norco, Felt and Bianchi.

Walkabout Outfitter www.walkaboutoutfitter.com

Local outdoor shop with Downtown and Valley View locations.

Backcountry Ski and Sport www.bcski.com

Local outdoor and gear shop, snow and paddle sports.

Outdoor Trails www.outdoortrails.com

Full service local outfitter located just 300 yards off the Appalachian Trail in Daleville. Second location in Lynchburg.

Black Dog Salvage www.blackdogsalvage.com

Acclaimed warehouse carrying an eclectic variety of antiques & restored furniture in an airy space. As seen on DIY Networks “Salvage Dawgs”!

 

Restaurants and Brews

 

Roanoke Restaurant Guide

http://www.visitroanokeva.com/restaurants-nightlife/dining/

Compilation of our great local eats!

 Parkway Brewing Co. www.parkwaybrewing.com

One of the areas best, located in Salem. Home of the famous Get Bent IPA.

Soaring Ridge Craft Brewers www.soaringridge.com

Awesome beer and brewery with a great vibe, right in downtown Roanoke. Check out the website for events.

Roanoke Railhouse Brewery www.roanokerailhouse.com

Great beer paying homage to our Railroad heritage.

Chaos Mountain Brewing www.chaosmountainbrewing.com

A little off the beaten path in Franklin County, a great place to sample some local ales.

Big Lick Brewing Company www.biglickbrewingco.com

“Rarely will we have the same beer twice.” Enough said! Open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.

Sunken City Brewing Company www.sunkencitybeer.com

Franklin County Brewery near Smith Mountain Lake. Try the Red Clay IPA! Open Wednesday through Sunday.

Callaway Brewing Company www.callawaybrewingco.com

Another Franklin County brewery. Open Thursdays from 6:30-8.